On Focusing Beneath the Belt . by Alice B. Clagett

Written and published on 11 July 2013; revised


Dear Ones,


If your mind is running you in circles, the cure is to ground in the physical body. What stops lots of folks from doing that is the trauma they carry in the first three of the traditional chakras. Taken together, these three chakras … basal, sexual, and navel centers … are known in yoga as the ‘lower triangle’.

One of the fastest ways to ground the physical body is to clear and ground the ‘lower triangle.’


I may not have mentioned in past, but I have a teaching background in kundalini yoga. In the 80’s, for 6 years, I lived in a 3HO ashram, where I led the morning sadhana, including prayers, yoga, and chanting meditation. Soon after I arrived at the ashram, the ashram leader asked me to do a 40-day sadhana of ‘Sat Kriya.’

It was torture. 31 minutes a day. Miss no days – or else start all over again. BUT it cleared the trauma out of my lower triangle. My teacher knew whereof he spoke.

So, if you want to ground in the physical body, you might want to try a 40-day sadhana – 31 minutes a day – of Sat Kriya, as described here …

Link: “Healthy, Happy, Holy Organization (3HO)” … https://www.3ho.org/ … Search the term: Sat Kriya


Then the next step will be to build up the strength of your lower triangle. This link shows simple exercises for the chakras …

Link: “7 Kundalini Yoga Postures to Clear the Chakras,” by Ramdesh Kaur, 13 May 2010 …  https://www.spiritvoyage.com/blog/index.php/7-kundalini-yoga-postures-to-clear-the-chakras/ ..

The text says the exercises will clear the chakras; but I think you will find the main effect is to build the strength of the chakras. And secondarily, to clear them as well.

For the lower triangle, use the first three exercises.


The ‘Crow Pose’ exercise is a dynamic exercise. Move from the standing position to the crouching position smoothly and as rapidly as you may comfortably do. Push yourself a little, but don’t go ballistic unless you have a very strong constitution, and feel it’s safe to do so. Continue 26, 52, or 108 times. Then stop.


The next exercise is ‘Frog Pose’. The story goes that, in India, young men who wished to marry used to be not allowed to do so until they did a Frog Pose sadhana – 108 times, at a very rapid pace, no rests, for each sadhana. The reason was that it increased their virility as well as their sexual control. To this colorful story I might add, from personal experience: it will do the same for a woman.

Tips on Frog Pose: Place the fingertips … not the palms of the hands … firmly on the ground and keep them there. Heels are touching each other and OFF the ground throughout the exercise. It’s not Frog Pose unless the heels are off the ground. When you’re in the head-down position, the eyes are looking through your legs (i.e., head upside down, eyes looking behind you). When you’re in the squatting position, the chin should be up (not tucked in) and the eyes looking straight forward. Continue 26, 52, or 108 times per session. Make it as rapidly as possible, as long as it doesn’t endanger your health. Then stop. Here is a video …

Video: “How to Do Kundalini Yoga Frogs,” by Spirit Voyage … https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JFwtV7vjyXY ..


‘Stretch Pose’: Two-in-one: Ratchets up the will power and gives you flat abs. Head up, chin tucked in. Eyes open, staring at toes. Heels 6 inches off the ground. No more than 6 inches. Keep the lower back firmly on the ground. Do breath of fire throughout. (1) Continue for 3, 11 or 31 minutes. I double dare you to work your way up to 31 minutes! Then when the minutes are up: hold the pose, inhale completely, exhale completely, and with the breath held out, pull up and in on the anal sphincter. Do this inhale – exhale – pull three times, then inhale completely and relax. Here’s a stretch pose video – good video, but it does not mention the final three breaths …

Video: Kundalini Yoga Stretch Pose with Anne Novak … https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E9J7AcNLdV0 ..


There is one more thing you can do to ground your physical body all day long. And that is ever so simple. Just focus your awareness on your lower chakras. When you’re walking. When you’re driving. When you’re resting. When you’re talking. All the time, all day.

Be specific in your awareness. Don’t think; just feel. Feel your sexual chakra. Feel your navel point. Feel your anal sphincter.

There is quite some controversy over the location of these chakras. Here is a traditional picture. To illustrate, I’ll show two pictures. You may need to double click on them to be able to see them well. In the first pix, manipura = navel center. Svadhisthana = sexual center. Muladhara = basal center …

Image: Chakras Kshetram … https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/39/e5/08/39e50874bc609c1fe0fa28791356e504.jpg ..

Now look at this Theosophical Society picture. Base of the spine centre = basal center. Navel centre is much lower. Spleen centre, seat of vitality — HIGHER than the navel center. and located in the center of the torso — is apparently the sexual center.

Image: “The Etheric Double” by Arthur E. Powell: Diagram XIII: Man and His Etheric Centers …  https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/d7/26/87/d72687d16d783a6d9d98584f657d4baf.jpg ..

I expect it will be fine to focus your awareness on whatever depiction of the chakras appeals to you. The main thing is, if you want to ground, focus your awareness beneath your belt.

Hoping this will be of service,

In love, light and joy,
I Am of the Stars


(1) Breath of fire is a rapid breath. The mouth is closed. Pump the navel point sharply in as you exhale. Inhale as you relax the navel point. This breath helps clear the lungs, blood, and cells. See also …

Link: “Breath of Fire (BOF)” … https://www.kundalini-yoga-info.com/breath-of-fire.htmlPage down to the section on the benefits of breath of fire.


Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.


lower triangle, crow pose, earthing, frog pose, grounding, kundalini yoga, stretch pose, breath of fire, chakras,

Do you have comments?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.